top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

HELLO BEAUTIFUL:

Welcome to Fit for the King! My name is Katie and I am so excited that you're visiting my blog. I'm on a journey to live my life in a healthier, holier way and hope you will join me on this journey! 

 

"For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases Him." Phillipians 2:13

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

The Journey Begins


Today I am starting fresh, beginning a new journey. It has been a little over two months since my fiancee and I got engaged, and in a little over ten months, we will be married. To be honest, I don't want to begin our marriage in the state that I'm currently in. I want to be so much healthier, I want to form amazing habits that will help me feel better about myself in all that I do. For instance, I want to begin my days by running, and I want to get into a more routine sleep schedule. Ironically, I'm typing this post at 1:40am... Ooops. ;)

Seriously, though. I am tired of carrying around all this excess weight, tired of not being able to run a mile, tired of not making myself a priority. According to 1 Corinthians 6:19, my body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, of the same God that formed the earth and raised Jesus from the dead. Back in Bible times, the Temples that were created to honor God were incredbily well thought out and taken care of. They were decorated with precious metals and adorned with majestic fabrics, because the place where God dwelled was considered the Holy of Holies, the most sacred of all places.

What would happen if we began to view ourselves as temples of the living God? To see ourselves and our bodies as they are: a dwelling place for the sacred King of Kings? How would we change our routines to honor and glorify God by taking care of our bodies, our minds and our spirits if we realized that the bodies we move and breathe and eat and live in are as sacred as the temples of old? I think if we really understood what this meant, we couldn't help but begin to make big changes in our routines so we could honor God more completely with our temples.

I want to continue to study this concept, and I'm sure that I'll revisit this more than once in the course of maintaining this blog. There are quite a number of verses that talk about our bodies as temples and sacrifices and I look forward to picking apart and trying to understand these ideas. Most of all, though, I look forward to the transformation which God has already begun in me and the promise of his work coming to completion.

Until next time,

Katie

bottom of page